The Prayer

I would like to write a poem about your hands

Twisted and flawed, the way I like

I only want to be your manicurist

To celebrate every scar and every vein

To stare at every wrinkle in your palms

and be your fortuneteller

I want your flawed hands on every inch of my skin

I shall make every curve of my body their home.

 
Artwork credit © Albrecht Dürer

Artwork: Praying Hands, a pen-and-ink drawing by the German printmaker, painter and theorist Albrecht Dürer, executed c. 1508. The artwork is stored at Albertina museum — Graphische Sammlung in Vienna, Austria. Dürer used white heightening technique and black ink on (self-made) Blue colored paper. The drawing is one of the art world’s iconic sketches.

Leave a Reply

